Who we are
"Educating all students today for tomorrow's future"
Hillside Intermediate School, led by Principal Hunt, is a positive learning community that is home to approximately 320 fifth and sixth-grade students and 50 faculty and staff on Naugatuck's west side of town. Prided as a family-like community, our school is an exciting place of teaching and learning!
At Hillside, we promote each child's success and happiness through a rigorous academic program relevant to students' lives; the modeling of respect and positive social relationships; as well as the opportunity to explore interests through a variety of offerings. Our faculty and staff are dedicated to providing an environment rich in social, emotional and academic experiences where all students will aspire to become lifelong learners.
Hillside at a Glance
- 12 Countries our students hail from
- 92% of our faculty have advanced degrees
- 1905 Year our school was donated by John Howard Whittemore
- $4,482 Raised by faculty and staff for United Way
- 3 Level entrances on 3 different floors on the same road
25 students are bilingual
"A Tradition of Excellence"
Although our school bears a new name, it has a rich history and is a treasured part of the Naugatuck community. Given to the town in 1905 by philanthropist John Howard Whittemore, this beautiful marble and granite structure was designed by the famous architectural firm of McKim, Mead, and White. Sitting atop a winding brick road, our school overlooks the Town Green and Salem Elementary School. This "jewel on the hill" also once appeared in Ripley's Believe It or Not for having three ground level entrances on three different floors and all on the same road.
Our school began as the Borough's first high school. During the Flood of 1955, the Naugatuck Police Station was relocated to our school. It was there that emergency and rescue operations were headquartered. In 1959 when the "new" Naugatuck High School was built on Rubber Avenue our school was renamed Hillside Middle School. In 1962, the school survived a devastating fire which gutted most of the interior but left the exterior of the building intact. The school remained a middle school for 51 years; during that time it had only three principals: Mr. Joseph Ruccio (1959-1975), Mr. Robert Markovic (1975-1993) and Mr. Brian Sullivan (1993-2010). In the summer of 2010, our school was once again renamed. Hillside Intermediate School is now the home to approximately 320 fifth and sixth-grade students.
While the name has changed over the years, the tradition of excellence continues. Hillside Intermediate School, "Home of the Eagles", looks forward to building on the school's rich history of educating Naugatuck's children.